top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Anxiety

Smiling Depression

One of my friends shared an article with me about 'Smiling Depression'. It made me realize that that's pretty much the kind of depression I suffered from 2 times. You can read the article here:

https://www.technologynetworks.com/neuroscience/articles/smiling-depression-its-possible-to-be-depressed-while-appearing-happy-315596?fbclid=IwAR0wW5O8EhUAGzZvnGh5SEhxaSPUNN3QrQfx5annyNDG1IP3YQ80lX-pWO4


It is so important that we get rid of the stigma around mental health... I am one of the "Lucky" ones who suffer from passive suicide ideation. But if someone suffers from active....... I can't finish that sentence... 🙈


A piece out of the article:

"We can also find purpose by caring for someone else. When we take the spotlight off of us and start to think about someone else’s needs and wants, we begin to feel that our lives matter. This can be achieved by volunteering, or taking care of a family member or even an animal.

Feeling that our lives matter is ultimately what gives us purpose and meaning – and this can make a significant difference for our mental health and well-being."

This made me think of Chester Bennington... He was always caring for others, volunteerd, making jokes and just smiling. He just tried to feel better, he created a purpose for his life. I can totally relatie to that, because I have the exact same thing: every single day, I try to help others and make others feel better. When I see that worked, I feel better too! it makes total sense that it has to do with the fact it gives us purpose and meaning… Never thought about it that way.


We really need to raise awareness for topics like this... And if you also reconize yourself in the article 'Smiling Depression', please reach out to someone. Let them read the article and just say: I feel like this. But please: reach out. Because you matter! You are important! You are amazing and beautiful and you deserve to feel better! Reach out and don't give up 🙏🏻



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finding help

A couple days ago I started to have trouble breathing. I'm asthmatic, so I grabbed my inhaler. After a little while I started to get light headed. I also noticed I was still breathing poorly, so it pr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page