top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Anxiety

Turning bad days in good days

Updated: Feb 26, 2019

This morning I woke up with a depressed and low feeling. A dark cloud was surrounding me and I didn't want to get out of bed...

After about an hour I forced myself to get up, take a shower and get dressed. After that I was looking in the mirror and my demons started telling me I look like shit and I will still look like shit after putting make-up on, so don't bother.... But I learned that that's an "alarm bell". An alarm bell is an old habit or situation where you should realize you are NOT taking good care of yourself. I have found multiple alarm bells in the last year:

- Don't want to get out of bed when I wake up.

- Not wanting to cook after work (or other housekeeping chores)

- Only want to sit/hang on the couch and don't want to do anything.

- Not taking good care of myself. This can be many things:

- Not wanting to put in my lenses.

- Not wanting to put on make-up.

- Don't want to eat or drink anything (and/or forgetting to eat/drink).

- If I do want to eat, I only want unhealthy things.

- Not wanting to do anything fun. Not even when my friends ask me to join them.

I probably have more alarm bells, but these are the ones I noticed and wrote down. It is important to write them down, so you can read them from time to time to check in with yourself to see if you're still taking care of yourself.


So, this morning, I slapped myself (not literally ofc). and told myself to take care of myself! I put my lenses in, put some make-up on, brushed my teeth, brushed my hair and looked at myself. I told myself that I was looking great (I didn't believe me, but the point is you need to stay positive in these situations). When I was done, I made myself breakfast and started to watch LPUTV on YouTube. That's one of the things I do to make me feel better. It always makes me laugh :-)


In the afternoon, the sun was shining like it was Spring already, so I put my earplugs in my phone, opened Pokemon Go and I went for a walk. When I feel like this, I'm not really in the mood to talk to people. So listening to music helps in 2 ways: It makes sure that the anxiety's stay away and it makes sure no one talks to you :-) I do wish everyone who crosses my path "Good afternoon", but I know if everyone would do that there would be a lot more people smiling. So I do my best to be the positive sparkle in people's life. I know it always makes me feel better if people give a nice smile and wish me good afternoon.


After this walk I was feeling a lot better and full of energy! So I grabbed my broom and started to clean out my backyard. Still with music on, ofc. And while I was doing this, I realized that I was doing much better than this morning! I heard my alarm bells go off, woke up from them, pulled myself up from the dark and turned my bad day in a good day. And I'm proud of myself for doing this :-D


Sometimes when I don't hear one of my alarm bells ring, I do an exercise I learned.

When I'm feeling off balanced, but there are no alarm bells ringing, I take 5 to 10 minutes by myself. I'm going to sit on the couch or lay on bed (find a place where it's quiet and you won't get disturbed). Then I'm going to focus on my body: what does my body tell me I need right now? Do I need to go to bed early? Am I hungry? Am I bored? What ever it is my body tells me, I'm writing it down and when I'm done feeling I read the things I wrote down. Then, for all the things I wrote down, I'm going to think of an action: What can I do, ASAP, to fix this?

This exercise doesn't always work, but most of the time I know what to do to help me feel (a little) better.


For now, I've done enough to make sure I'm feeling better today. My anxiety's aren't bothering me that much at the moment. The little demon jumps on my shoulder sometimes, but I just kick him right off when he does. I'm in control now :-)




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finding help

A couple days ago I started to have trouble breathing. I'm asthmatic, so I grabbed my inhaler. After a little while I started to get light headed. I also noticed I was still breathing poorly, so it pr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page